Staff and Pensions Committee

Date: Tuesday 25 May 2021

Time: 1.55 pm or on the Rising of Council

Venue: Shire Hall, Warwick

Membership

Membership to be Determined at Council meeting 25 May 2021

Items on the agenda: -

- 1. General
 - (1) Apologies
 - (2) Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests
- 2. Appointment of Chair
- 3. Appointment of Vice Chair
- **4. Appointments to Sub Committees/Bodies** 3 4 To consider the appointments to bodies as set out in the report.

Monica Fogarty Chief Executive Warwickshire County Council

Shire Hall, Warwick



Disclaimers

Webcasting and permission to be filmed

Please note that this meeting will be filmed for live broadcast on the internet and can be viewed on line at warwickshire.public-i.tv. Generally, the public gallery is not filmed, but by entering the meeting room and using the public seating area you are consenting to being filmed. All recording will be undertaken in accordance with the Council's Standing Orders.

Disclosures of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

Members are required to register their disclosable pecuniary interests within 28 days of their election of appointment to the Council. Any changes to matters registered or new matters that require to be registered must be notified to the Monitoring Officer as soon as practicable after they arise.

A member attending a meeting where a matter arises in which they have a disclosable pecuniary interest must (unless they have a dispensation):

- Declare the interest if they have not already registered it
- · Not participate in any discussion or vote
- Leave the meeting room until the matter has been dealt with
- Give written notice of any unregistered interest to the Monitoring Officer within 28 days of the meeting

Non-pecuniary interests relevant to the agenda should be declared at the commencement of the meeting.

The public reports referred to are available on the Warwickshire Web https://democracy.warwickshire.gov.uk/uuCoverPage.aspx?bcr=1



Agenda Item 4

Staff and Pensions Committee

25 May 2021

Appointments to Sub-Committees/Bodies

Recommendation

That the Committee makes appointments to the bodies listed.

1.0 Introduction

The Staff and Pensions Committee is responsible for functions in relation to the appointment and terms and conditions of staff and local government pensions. The Committee is responsible for establishing and appointment to the bodies listed below.

2.0 Appointments to Bodies

2.1 Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee

The Sub-Committee oversees the investment policy relating to the pension fund and to ensure appropriate management of the Fund and administration of the Pension Scheme. This operates as a sub-committee of the Staff and Pensions Committee.

<u>Membership</u>

Five county councillors (allocated proportionately to the representation of groups and individual members on the Council). The Council is invited to confirm/appoint members to the Sub-Committee. The membership for 2020/21 was

- 3 Conservative Cllrs John Horner, Andy Jenns and Wallace Redford 1 Labour Cllr Neil Dirveiks
- 1 Liberal Democrat Cllr Bill Gifford

Based on the current membership of the Council, political proportionality would result in membership being split as follows: 4 Conservative seats, 1 Labour seat. However, the Committee could agree a different split of seats provided no member of the Committee votes against.

2.2 Appointments and Disciplinary Appeals Sub-Committees – Pool of Members

The Sub-Committees are established when required to determine individual appeals by employees and also to appoint Directors, Assistant Directors and such other statutory officers as required.

<u>Membership</u>

Any three or more elected members drawn from a pool of members. Members in the pool should undergo training prior to taking a seat on either a selection panel or staff appeal.

The pool for 2020/21 comprised:

<u>Conservatives</u>: Councillors Butlin, Caborn, Cargill, Clarke, Cockburn, Dahmash, Hayfield, Horner, Kaur, Morgan, Redford, Roberts, Seccombe, Simpson-Vince, Singh Birdi, Singh Pandher, Timms, Warwick and P.Williams <u>Labour:</u> Councillors Adkins, O'Rourke and Parsons. <u>Liberal Democrat</u>: Councillors Boad, Davies, Rickhards and Roodhouse. <u>Green</u>: Councillor Kondakor

Twelve of these members have now left the council. Any new members to the pool will be required to undertake training.

Background Papers

None. The information in this report is drawn from the Council's current published Constitution where the full terms of reference of bodies can be found.

	Name	Contact Information
Report Author	Paul Williams	Tel.01926 418196
		paulwilliamscl@warwickshire.gov.uk
Assistant Director	Sarah Duxbury	Tel 01926 412319
Governance and		sarahduxbury@warwickshire.gov.uk
Policy		
Strategic Director	Rob Powell	robpowell@warwickshire.gov.uk
		Tel 01926 412564